And Europe Will Be Stunned — The Polish Trilogy, 2012

Published by Artangel,
Ikon, Birmingham,
Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Humblebaek,
Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw,
Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven,
Edited by James Lingwood, Eleanor Nairne,
160 pages, Hardcover,
ISBN 978-1-902201-26-9

The publication combines the three films of Bartana's Polish Trilogy, 'Mary Koszmary' ('Nightmare', 2007), 'Mur i wieża' ('Wall and Tower', 2009) and 'Zamach' ('Assassination', 2011). It includes more than 100 stills and four accompanying articles.
This work revolve around the activities of the Jewish Renaissance Movement in Poland (JRMiP), a political group that calls for the return of 3,300,000 Jews to the land of their forefathers. The films traverse a landscape scarred by the histories of competing nationalisms and militarisms, overflowing with the narratives of the Israeli settlement movement, Zionist dreams, anti-Semitism, the Holocaust and the Palestinian right of return. Apart from realizing the film trilogy, a new political movement has been established by the artist.


Contributions by Ariella Azoulay, Boris Groys, Joanna Mytkowska, Adi Ophir, Jaqueline Rose.